That’s Not Hay in My Hair – Book Review

26309307[1]

Written by the talented young author, Juliette Turner, That’s Not Hay in My Hair is the endearing true story of a young girl and her mom who move from the hustle and bustle of New York City to the wide-open spaces of a 300-acre ranch in Texas.

Together, this delightful mom and daughter team experience the joys and adventures of ranch life — along with Longhorn cattle, horses, dogs and a cat! Beautifully-written, Ms. Turner draws you in from the very first page, weaving together a combination of laughter, tears and inspiration to the very last page. I had a difficult time putting this book down, and actually wished I could continue reading more about their life on the ranch. Her writing has me longing to take my family on a Texas vacation!

From kindly neighbors who live several miles away to visits from the author’s grandparents, I felt as though I had met them all and was visiting the great state of Texas with all its charm and hospitality!

The recommended age for readers is age 8-12, but I completely disagree — I believe readers of all ages, especially those who have a heart for animals, will thoroughly enjoy this book!

*In exchange for my honest review, I was given a free copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

*Photos courtesy of Google images

The author, Juliette, with her mom, Janine

MND_janine[1]

 

12 thoughts on “That’s Not Hay in My Hair – Book Review

  1. Thanks Anna, I think I’ll add this to my own reading list. It’s been a long time since I’ve read a review of a book that sounds this good to me. It might be written for tweens, but some of the best books I’ve read were written for kids and enjoyed by adults.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hopefully if this one sells well, she will. My check arrives in one week, and I’ll be ordering it immediately upon arrival of my check, and will possibly order some hard copies to give as Christmas gifts. I think my daughter and granddaughters will like this one also. My daughter and I share the same taste in books, and if the granddaughters don’t like this one, they are free to re-gift,. which will give this author more exposure.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! Thanks for sharing. I recently requested this book for review myself, and I’m glad to see so many people liked it. 🙂 It seems like Christian YA isn’t getting as much exposure as it once was. A lot of my recent favorites have small numbers of ratings on sites like Goodreads. I’m always excited to find blogs that post reviews of Christian YA. Here’s my blog, too, in case you’re interested in checking it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

